• CK Sorens

Book Review: Ozma: Faeries of Oz

Back in April I shared a new fantasy romance series called the Faeries of Oz. Tin and Crow lead the way, and now we have book three in the series! The final installment arrives on November 10th. While I wait for Tik-Tok, let me tell you about Ozma.


This has been my favorite so far, though with a cameo from Tik-Tok, I'm really excited to read about him in the last book in the series and have an inkling it might edge this one out. We shall see!


About the Book


At Ozma’s birth, the witch, Mombi, abducted and cast a spell on her, turning the infant into a male. Only when Ozma broke the witch’s curse did she discover who she is—the True Queen of Oz. Her freedom is short-lived when the Wizard, hungry for her power, imprisons her in a dark, brutal world, cut off from Jack and her magic.


Jack, too, was stolen as a child, forced to toil as Mombi’s slave. When he believes his lover died, Jack loses himself to an array of companions, while plotting his escape from Mombi.


Once Ozma is returned to the Land of Oz by a savior’s magic, she seeks to reunite with Jack while vowing to kill the two fae who ruined their lives. However, neither Jack or Ozma are the same as they once were. They must put their heartache aside to journey across the unforgiving land to stop the Wizard and keep evil from sweeping over the territories.


Perfect for fans of Laura Thalassa and Sarah J. Maas



My Review


For me, this was the most realistic relationship arc of the other two novels. Ozma's anxiety and Jack's guilt ate away at me as I read. This novel is a study of true love, picking apart how much we love the outer package versus the inner self. That yes, as people we change, and the people we love are more than capable of changing with us when they return that love.


The plot is also well paced and exciting, drawing you through their worldly challenges as they battle with their emotions. Ozma and Jack are able to get retribution from woman who kidnapped them, and with the help of a very handsome Fae pirate, take on the Oz's oppressor. The most important take away is what they promise that pirate in return for his help - a particular Fae he can describe, but cannot know when the child will be born.


And I cannot wait to read how it turns out in the final book, once it's out in November!


About the Authors


(Photo and Bio from Candace's GoodReads page.)


I spend my days consumed by words and hoping to one day find my own DeLorean time machine. My life consists of avoiding migraines, admiring Bonsai trees, watching classic movies, and living with my husband and daughter in Texas—where it can be forty degrees one day and eighty the next!


Sign up for my newsletter to hear about awesome things! http://eepurl.com/dhV0yv(less)


You can also find Candace at:


Amazon

Instagram

Facebook

GoodReads



(Photo and Bio from Amber's GoodReads page.)


Amber R. Duell is a native of Central New York but currently lives in Mississippi with her husband and two sons. She survives on caffeine and baked goods. When not reading or writing, she enjoys snowboarding, embroidering, staying up way too late to research genealogy, and discovering real-life adventures.


You can also find Amber at:


Amazon

Instagram

Facebook

GoodReads


To learn more about Tin, Crow, and Ozma, and to keep up with the new release of Tik-Tok, be sure to follow the links above. As always, if you love your authors, please consider leaving a review! They're worth their weight in gold!



To keep up to date about my books in the Trimarked series, be sure to sign up for my newsletter where I'll be announcing a contest of my own, soon! You can also find me on Instagram or Facebook. To buy Trimarked, check out this page on my website for a short list of retailers or ask for it to be ordered at your favorite bookstore.



*Note, all links to Amazon are affiliate. Thank you for your support!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All